top of page

Helping them help themselves

You've got a teenager who is looking down the barrel of bad decision making, or at risk of making no decision at all, which means never leaving home!? You're worried they're going down the wrong path or going to end up either a full time intrepid traveller, on an expensive course they qualify for but never use or, end up in a career they will regret choosing? Or, on the dole, living off you, on the streets or in prison!

I was given appalling career advice at school by Mr Murray. At the vulnerable age of 15, he told me to quit school because I would never amount to anything (I didn't quit and I'm pretty sure I ended up earning 3 times as much as he ever did but let's not digress!). Sadly there are a lot of Mr Murray's in the world. They won't all tell kids to quit school, but many won't look at the teen to find out what truly makes them tick or why they're behaving a certain way.

I believe we need to discover what inspires our kids, help them to help themselves and without putting any expectations, traditions or constraints on them.

University isn't for everyone. If it is, that's perfect, but what if it isn't?

Let's find out what they're passionate about and push them in that direction. Even if it means going and seeing the world to gain some life experience, starting in a company at the bottom and working their way up, starting their own company at 18, taking risks, learning success from mistakes, whatever it takes.

Here's the thing - if they follow their passion and find a way to turn it into a career, it will never feel like work. Wouldn't it feel amazing to have helped them into that position? Encourage them to find their "thing" and commit to being the best they can be at it (I am not writing off University here, I am just saying it isn't the only way to success). Look at Richard Branson, uber rich (not that rich is everything!) and his main driver? If its not fun, he won't do it.

I believe that whatever our age - the happier we are, the more productive we are - and all of society benefits from that. So it is my ambition to help people to be the best version of themselves and to live their best life especially if they're starting out in their career. And I know it's not easy for parents and their teens to have those all important conversations, that's why I'm here. Contact me today.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page